Directions to Lexington, Virginia
VMI Post Map 
facebook   twitter  Flicker FORA TV

Mrs. Ronda Dove
Administrative Assistant

P:  (540) 464-7361
F: (540) 464-7396

Center for Leadership & Ethics
VMI, Marshall Hall
500 Anderson Drive
Lexington, VA  24450

Erchul Environmental Leadership Award

The Erchul Environmental Leadership Award recognizes a Virginian who has made significant individual efforts to better our environment. Nominees are judged on the basis of vision, expertise, commitment, integrity, communication skills, accomplishments, and diplomacy. Nominees may come from any field or endeavor. 

The award is named for Captain Ronald A. Erchul, USN, Retired, who served as a professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering at Virginia Military Institute for 27 years. Captain Erchul, Ph. D., was the founder and coordinator of the Environment Virginia Symposium until his retirement. He passed away October 2011.

PDF of Erchul Award Rules and Dates: 2015 

Nomination Link: 2015 Erchul Award Nominations is OPEN!


Winners of the Erchul Environmental Leadership Award 

 2015 Recipient
Jack Frye, Director of the Chesapeake Bay Commission

News Story

2014 Recipient
Russ Baxter, Deputy Secretary of Natural Resources for Chesapeake Bay
News Story

2013 Recipient
W. Shelton Miles, III
Chair of the Board, 2006-2012

2012 Recipients
E. Cabell Brand
Timothy G. Hayes, Hunton & Williams

2011 Recipient
Cindy Berndt, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality

2010 Recipient
Michael Lipford, The Nature Conservancy
News Story

2009 Recipient
Ann Jennings, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
News story  

2008 Recipient
Ward Burton, Ward Burton Wildlife Foundation
News story

2004 Recipients

Local Government: John Carlock, Deputy Executive Director of Physical Planning, Hampton Roads Planning District Commission.
State Government: David K. Paylor, Deputy Secretary of Natural Resources, Commonwealth of Virginia
Federal Government: David L. Nelms, U.S. Geological Survey
Business and Industry: Robert L. Dunn, Environmental Affairs and Community Relations Manager for DuPont
Not-for-Profit: Katherine (Kay) Slaughter, Senior Attorney with the Southern Environmental Law Center
Education: Ann M. Regn, Director of the Office of Environmental Education, Department of Environmental Quality.

2000 Recipients

Public Sector
Tayloe Murphy, former member of the Virginia House of Delegates
Dennis Treacy, Director of the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Private Sector

Jay Gilliam, Coordinator, Save our Stream, Izaak Walton League
Joseph Maroon, Virginia Executive Director, Chesapeake Bay Foundation
Honorable Mention: Private Sector - Robert Dunn, DuPont & Carol Wampler, Virginia Manufacturers Association
Honorable Mention: Public Sector - John Daniels, Department of Environmental Quality; Harry Gregori, Department of Environmental Quality, & Ann Regn, Environmental Education Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality