Cindy Bither
Administrative Assistant
P: (540) 464-7207
F: (540) 464-7443

111 Smith Hall
Lexington, VA 24450

Hall of Fame Weekend Sept. 2-3

LEXINGTON, Va., July 27, 2011 – The 2011 VMI Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony and banquet will take place on Friday, Sept. 2, in Marshall Hall on the VMI post. Cocktails will begin at 6 p.m., followed by the program at 7.

The following day, Saturday, Sept. 3, the 2011 inductees will take the review with VMI Superintendent Gen. J.H. Binford Peay III ’62 at the 10:30 a.m. parade by the Corps of Cadets. The inductees will also be honored at halftime of the football game with Delaware State University; kickoff is at 1:30 p.m. 

The 2011 inductees are Col. Neal C. Petree Jr., football, Class of 1952; G. Gilmer Minor III, football/baseball, Class of 1963; Gary A. Sibayan, baseball, Class of 1989; Dr. Joseph J. DuBose, track, Class of 1996; Richard E. Daughtridge, soccer, Class of 1998; Leslie Apedoe, wrestling, Class of 1999; Capt. Isaac D. Moore, wrestling, Class of 1999; Christopher D. Catanzaro, baseball, Class of 2001; and Karlyos D. Hayslett and Isaac W. Sherlock, special citations.

The ceremony and banquet are open to the public. Tickets may be purchased through the VMI Protocol Office at 540-464-7784. The cost is $30 per person. Checks payable to VMI Sports Hall of Fame should be sent in advance to the VMI Protocol Office, 303A Letcher Avenue, Lexington, VA 24450. Tickets will be sent upon receipt of payment.

Game tickets can be purchased through the VMI ticket office at 540-464-7266 or online.

For overnight accommodations, a block of rooms has been reserved at the Holiday Inn Express at $109.99 per night. Cut-off date for these rooms, which may be reserved by calling 540-463-7351, is Aug. 12.