Cindy Bither
Administrative Assistant
P: (540) 464-7207
F: (540) 464-7443

111 Smith Hall
Lexington, VA 24450

Summer Undergraduate Research Awards Announced

FullTextImage/img/@altLt. Col. Chuck Newhouse and Maj. Jenny deHart observe Cadet Johnny McDonald's work during SURI 2012. -- VMI File Photo by Kevin Remington.

LEXINGTON, Va., March 13, 2013 – The VMI Center for Undergraduate Research has announced 63 Summer Undergraduate Research Institute cadet/mentor grants for research this summer.  The awards are as follows:

Biology – Emily Hill with Maj. Anne Alerding and Justin Walker with Maj. Emily Lilly.

Civil and environmental engineering – Giustino Iuliano, Col. Grigg Mullen; Matthew Reardon, Maj. Matthew Swenty; Cameron Weatherholtz, Lt. Col. Chuck Newhouse, Maj. Paul Ackerman and Swenty; and Joshua Wells, Swenty.

Electrical and computer engineering – Leon Peng, Col. Shawn Addington.

English and fine arts – Kylen Schmidt, Col. Christina McDonald.

History – John Bolen, Col. Geoff Jensen; John Hansen, Lt. Col. Bradley Coleman; Joseph Predebon, Maj. Houston Johnson; and William Thompson, Col. Mark Wilkinson.

History and modern languages and cultures – William Dodson, Col. Mary Ann Dellinger.

International studies – Chase Hinson, Maj. Brent Hierman; Connor Diesing, Hierman; Francis Kelly, Maj. Ryan Holston; Weston Hitchcock, Maj. Howard Sanborn; Logan Ridge, Sanborn; and Charis Chillers, Col. Jim Hentz.

Math and computer science – Stephen Mascioli, Maj. John David; James Snyder, David; and Robert Michie, David.

Mechanical engineering – Paul Cicero, Col. Wayne Neel.

Psychology and philosophy – Nicole Harding, Maj. Glenn Sullivan, and Anthony Pacheco, Maj. Scott Frein.

Physics and astronomy – George Matthews III, Lt. Col. Greg Topasna, and Graham Martin, Col. John Thompson.

Support for these awards is provided by Jackson-Hope Fund, VMI Research Laboratories, and project-specific sources.

V-CUR will also provide partial support to the following programs and initiatives: the Applied and Industrial Mathematics program, the memorandum of understanding between VMI and Virginia Commonwealth University, the Banff Interdisciplinary Research Internship in Conservation program, the Mathematics Education and Resource Center, the biology department’s Dr. Fred C. Swope Summer Scholars Program, the chemistry department’s Summer Undergraduate Research Program, and faculty members’ personal external grants.

“In keeping with the spirit of the Jackson-Hope Fund, the awards are spread across nearly all academic departments and will support faculty in various stages of their careers and students in different years of their cadetships,” commented Brig. Gen. Wane Schneiter, dean of the faculty, in announcing the awards.