Cadet Awards

The ECBU department held its annual awards ceremony 19 March to recognize the top achieving cadets in departmental courses. In addition to academic excellence awards being given for top cadets among all four class years, the department gave out the Roberts and Wheat medals and held the honor society (ODE and BGS) inductions. Given the early date for the ceremony, some awards were presented at a later date.

The Roberts Medal, which recognizes the top standing by and economics and business major in the graduating class was awarded to Simone Jimenez, ‘13. Cadet Jimenez was also awarded the Philpott Medal for her research under MAJ Dimitrova-Grajzl entitled “Significance and Determinants of Consumer Confidence: Empirical Investigation of Individual-level Data.” 


William Alewine, ’13, was awarded the Wheat Medal for top performance on the Major Field Test—Business by an economics and business major in the graduating class.


Also recognized for their outstanding performance on the Major Field Test – Business were James Colt, ’13, Benjamin Cross, ’13, Justin Dalton, ’13, Hunter Holthaus, ’13, Charles Jones, ’13 and Leah Schubel, ’13.


Academic Excellence awards are given to those who achieve a 3.0 cumulative GPA or better.
For the Class of 2013, the awardees are William Alewine, '13, Michael Burnett, '13, Steven Carr, '13, William Coursey, '13, Benjamin Cross, '13, Russell East, '13, Simone Jimenez, '13, Charles Jones, '13, Robert Kanter, '13, Thomas Moran, '13, Stanley Okoye, '13, J Rice, '13, Leah Schubel, '13, Benjamin Waterbury, '13, Darren Waters, '13, and Christopher Zyra, '13


For the Class of 2014, the awardees are William Breakell, ‘14, Chih-Yuan Chen, ‘14, Tsung-Han Chu, ‘14, Robert Demson, ‘14, Jacob Grier, ‘14, Collin Newcomb, ‘14, Joseph Pinotti, ‘14, Andrew Ukrop, ‘14, and Zachary Wilkinson, ‘14.


For the Class of 2015, the awardees are Clark Chen, ‘15, William Claytor, ‘15, Robert Davison, ‘15, Brandon Diamond, ‘15, Benjamin Field, ‘15, Eric Groleau, ‘15, Travis Hawkins, ‘15, William Holzapfel, ‘15, Wesley Jacobs, ‘15, Gary LeClair, ‘15, Gianluca Mangiapane, ‘15, Henry Meredith, ‘15, Tyler Prasnicki, ‘15, Renee Reives, ‘15, Francelica Rossetti, ‘15, Richard Siewers, ‘15, Samuel Trumps, ‘15, and Conrad Wharton, ‘15.


For the Class of 2016, the awardees are Anthony Bianchi, ‘16, David Burke, ‘16, Davis Chandler, ‘16, Andy Choi, ‘16, Paul Copley, ‘16, Michael Coppolino, ‘16, Daniel de Nijs, ‘16, Austin Eden, ‘16, David Geary, ‘16, Patrick Hine, ‘16, Austin Holmes, ‘16, Isaac Lewis, ‘16, Dewei Li, ‘16, Connor Morgan, ‘16, Philip Morton, ‘16, Jacob Norris, ‘16, Ryan Poffenbarger, ‘16, Trey Rose, ‘16, Paige Taylor, ‘16, and Townsend Williams, ‘16.


Omicron Delta Epsilon inducted eleven new members. The inductees are William Alewine '13, Michael Burnett '13, Simone Jimenez '13, Charles Jones '13, William Breakell '14, Chih-Yuan Chen '14, Tsung-Han Chu '14, Robert Demson '14, Jacob Grier '14, Collin Newcomb '14, Andrew Ukrop '14, Zachary Wilkinson '14, and William Holzapfel '15. In addition, three faculty members were inducted: LTC Jeffrey Smith, MAJ Valentina Dimitroval-Grajzl and MAJ Dekuwmini Mornah.


Beta Gamma Sigma inducted eight new members. The inductees are Chih-Yuan Chen '14, Jacob Grier '14, Andrew Ukrop '14, William Breakell '14, Robert Demson '14, and J Rice '13.


The Faculty Scholarship for Merit Award was given to Henry Meredith, ’15 for academic excellence. Stanley Okoye, ’13 and Russell East, ’13 were both recognized with the Intercollegiate Sports Awards for all-round excellence in intercollegiate athletics.

Finally, on graduation day, several graduating cadets were recognized.

Distinguished Graduates with Institute Honors (cumulative GPA above 3.5 and completed a cross-disciplinary honors curriculum)

  • Simone Jimenez 
  • Benjamin Waterbury

Distinguished Graduates (cumulative GPA above 3.5)

  • Robert Kanter 
  • Leah Schubel  

With Distinction (cumulative GPA between 3.0 and 3.499)

  • William Alewine  
  • Michael Burnett  
  • Steven Joseph Carr  
  • James Colt
  • William Coursey  
  • Benjamin Cross
  • Russell East
  • Charles Jones
  • Thomas Moran  
  • Adam Morgan
  • Stanley Okoye  
  • J. Rice
  • Matthew Seinfeld  
  • Darren Waters
  • Christopher Zyra