Cindy Bither
Administrative Assistant
P: (540) 464-7207
F: (540) 464-7443

111 Smith Hall
Lexington, VA 24450

Cadets Inducted into Honor Societies


LEXINGTON, Va., Dec. 13, 2013 – A number of VMI cadets were inducted into academic honor societies during the fall 2013 semester.

On Oct. 22, 17 cadets were inducted into the VMI Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa, the national leadership honor society. To be eligible for Omicron Delta Kappa, 1st Class cadets must be in the top 10 percent of their class while 2nd Class cadets must be in the top 7.5 percent of their class. Selection is based on leadership and accomplishment in scholarship, the Corps, athletics, and service activities.

First Class cadets inducted into ODK were Terae A. Harris, Tanner S. Knight, Nicole M. Harding, Michael McDonald, Joseph R. Porzio, John P. Hansen, Jacob S. Lysher, Christian P. Beale, and William D. Cheatham.

Second Class cadets inducted were Ryan O. Long, Rob M. Franzino, John W. McDonald, John W. Folta, James E. Murphy III, Henry W. Meredith, Robert Hendren, and Anthony Pacheco.

On Nov. 6, eight biology majors, all 2nd Class cadets, were inducted into the Psi Omicron chapter of Beta Beta Beta, a national biology honor society.

Those inducted were Robert Hendren, Harper Niver, Hannah Dickinson, Katheryne Austin, Kimberly Smith, Justin Walker, Robert Diehl, and Kurt Schommer.

On Nov. 18, 16 cadets were inducted into Psi Chi, the international honor society for psychology. Membership reflects high achievement in both psychological science and general academics.

Those inducted were 1st Class cadets Timothy R. Brent and Mary E. Schriver and 2nd Class cadets Drew M. Bryan, Jonathan P. Campbell, Michelle A. Church, Timothy B. Hostler, William C. Hyman, Stephen R. Lloyd, Matthew P. Navarro, Timothy C. Ohl, Anthony Pacheco, Mackenzie L. Perkins, Matthew A. Tate, Steven P. Trayer, Luke G. Van Zandt, and Mitchell L. White.