Awards and Scholarships

  CEE Awards 

  •   Mark W. Miller '09 received the Civil Engineering Award, given to the cadet declared by the department head to have stood first in Civil Engineering for four years.
  • Kittisak Siripollawat'11 received the John Bowie Gray Award as the first standing 3rd Class cadet in CEE.
  • Mark W. Miller'09 and Daniel Hingley'09 tied as receipients of the Nathaniel W. Pendleton '22 Award, given to the 1st Class cadet taking the first stand during his/her 1st Class year in the civil engineering curriculum.
  • The James Preston Taylor Award - given to the top five 4th Class cadets for outstanding academic achievement in CEE - was awarded to Matthew R. Brock '12.
  • R. Phillip Steinhoff, Jr. '11 and Dogucan Mazicioglu '10 (renewed) received the Hankins and Anderson Scholarship and Internship (equivalent to at least one full year of in-state tuition and a paid summer internship).

CEE Scholarships 

  • Elizabeth A. Carlos, Marshall H. Jarrett '11 and Justin T. Ferrell '10 (renewal) received the Openshaw Family Scholarship (criteria are academic performance, leadership, and strength of character).
  • The W.H. Pettigrew, Class of 1933 Scholarship was awarded to the following 2nd Class cadets from Virginia in recognition of their academmic records, participation in extracurricular activites, and evidence of leadership potential: Davis R. Garrett '11, Stefan A. Stark '11, Miles P. Treacy '11, and Neil C. Walker '11. 
  • Robert E. Baker, Ericsson W.K. Davis, and Abram A Gross received the Fred C. Culpepper Jr., Class of 1940 Scholarship awarded to the top three cadets in the rising 1st Class in the curriculum at the end of fall term.


  • Gary Worley '09, Paul DeValk '10, and Justin Ferrell '10 have been chosen for the SKANSKA summer internship program for 2008.