Cadet Awards

Several ECBU majors were recognized with Institute Awards in 2011:

  • Cadet Nathanael Salatin, ‘11 – The Society of Cincinnati Medal for efficiency of service and excellence of character.
  • Kara Noble, ‘11 – The Dillard Award, given to the cadet best emulating Colonel Dillard’s scholarship and dedication to a broad liberal arts education.
  • Justin Topping, ’11 - The Almond Award for academic, athletic and military excellence.
  • Kippur Taylor, ’12  - The Faculty Scholarship for Merit for superior academic performance.
  • Jonathan Razack, ’11  - The Arnold Award as the outstanding First Class private accepting an active duty commission in the Army.
  • Darren Waters, ’12 - The Burress Award for skill in rifle marksmanship.
  • Adam Kruithof, Kara Noble, Keith O’Donnell and Philip Parker earned Distinguished Graduates honors.
  • Nathanael Salatin earned Distinguished Graduate with Institute Honors.

 The ECBU department held its annual awards ceremony 31 March to recognize the top achieving cadets in departmental courses.  In addition to academic excellence awards being given for top cadets among all four class years, the department gave out the Roberts and Wheat medals and held the honor society (ODE and BGS) inductions.


Nathanael Salatin ’11 was awarded the Wheat medal for top performance on the Major Field Test—Business by an economics and business major in the graduating class. In addition, he garnered the Philpott medal for his research entitled “Growth in Haiti: Encouraging Cooperation through the Right Incentives.”


Also recognized for their outstanding performance on the Major Field Test – Business were Burton Bacheller, III, Adam Becker, Steven Duke, Alex Haitsuka, Robert Harris, Jr. , Adam Kruithof, Nicholas Young.


Adam Kruithof ’11 was awarded the Roberts Medal. This medal recognizes the top standing by an economics and business major in the graduating class. 


Omicron Delta Epsilon inducted ten new members.  The inductees are: Kevin T. Brown, Preston A. Craft, Dallas J. Disbro, Boris Z. Duvnjak, Christopher C. Fraser, Richard S. Luck, Santiago  Munoz-Otalvaro, Bradley J. Parker, Nathanael R. Salatin, Lewedwyn K. Taylor, Casey A. Ward, Andrew M. Wong, and Andrew P. Yancey.


Beta Gamma Sigma inducted seven new members. The inductees are Dallas J. Disbro, Boris Z. Duvnjak, Christopher C. Fraser, Thomas E. McDavid, Nathanael R. Salatin, Michael A. Shafer, and Lewedwyn K. Taylor.


Academic Excellence awards are given to those who achieve a 3.0 cumulative GPA or better.   For the Class of 2011, the awardees are Preston Craft, Jon Deane, Alex Haitsuka, Robert Harris, Chaz Jones, Joseph Keese, Adam Kruithof, Thomas McDavid, Kara Noble, Keith O'Donnell, Philip Parker, Nathanael Salatin, and Casey Ward.


For the Class of 2012, the awardees are Kevin Brown, Michael Casper, Dallas Disbro, Boris Duvnjak, Christopher Fraser, Riley King, Richard Luck, Santiago Munoz-Otalvaro, Bradley Parker, Michael Shafer, Lewedwyn Taylor, Andrew Wong, and Andrew Yancey. 


For the Class of 2013, the awardees are William Alewine, Benjamin Cross, Russell East, Simone Jimenez, Robert Kanter, Leah Schubel, Benjamin Waterbury, Darren Waters, Thomas Wine and Christopher Zyra.


For the Class of 2014, the awardees are William Breakell, Chih-Yuan Chen, Tsung-Han Chu, John Clauff, Robert Demson, Jacob Grier, Nicolas Mari, Collin Newcomb, and Andrew Ukrop.