Fall 2020 Updates - Detailed information regarding protocols and scheduling for the Fall semester is now available. More

Erchul Nomination


The Erchul Environmental Leadership Award recognizes an individual for their significant efforts to better our environment over their lifetime or career. The Erchul award is named in honor of the symposium’s founder and VMI professor, the late Capt. Ronald Erchul.


Nominees may come from any field or endeavor and must:

  • Be a living Virginia resident aged 18 or over
  • Have a “Record of Significant Individual Effort to Better our Environment”


Judging Criteria:

  • Vision
  • Expertise
  • Commitment Integrity
  • Communication Skills
  • Accomplishments
  • Diplomacy


A call for nominations will be emailed in December 2019 to all past attendees of the Environment Virginia Symposium.

Submissions must be no more than 350 words explaining why the nominee is qualified. Representatives from the VMI Center for Leadership and Ethics reserve the right to eliminate nominees if they fail to meet criteria. Candidates may receive multiple nominations.

Finalists must agree to nominations and nominees must officially accept the nomination before their name goes on the ballot. VMI’s Center for Leadership and Ethics will post every approved nomination.

NOMINATION DEADLINE is February 6, 2020.

Nominees will be contacted by email or phone to conduct a fact-checking session to verify:

  • Eligibility
  • Reasoning facts provided with the nomination

Nominees will receive information about:

  • Who nominated them
  • The selection process
  • The date by when we will select this year’s recipient

About Voting:

  • Voters must be registered attendees at the current Environment Virginia Symposium
  • Voting is online

Award Process

  • The top 10% proceed as finalists to the Selection Committee (the Selection Committee consists of previous Erchul Award recipients)
  • A winner will be selected prior to the symposium
  • The award recipient will be notified and will receive:
    • Two complimentary tickets to the Environment Virginia Awards reception
    • A commemorative plaque
    • $1,500 donation to the non-profit environmental group of their choice
  • Recipients are only eligible to receive the award once in a lifetime but may participate as a member of the Selection Committee for future nominations.
  • The most recent past recipient is invited to present the newest recipient with their plaque during the awards presentation.

Important Dates:

  • December 2019, nominations open
  • February 2020, nominations close (date TBD)
  • March 2020, voting
  • Early to Mid-March 2020, winner selection
  • Award ceremony during the Symposium (date/time TBD)

Past Recipients

Carl Hershner 2018
Nikki Rovner 2017
Marc Edwards 2016
Jack Frye 2015
Russ Baxter 2014
Shelton Miles 2013
E. Cabell Brand 2012
Timothy G. Hayes 2012
Cindy Berndt 2011
Michael Lipford 2010
Ann Jennings 2009
Ward Burton 2008
John Carlock 2004
David Paylor 2004
David Nelms 2004
Robert Dunn 2004
Katherine Slaughter 2004
Ann Regn 2004
Tayloe Murphy 2000
Dennis Treacy 2000
Jay Gilliam 2000
Joseph Maroon 2000