VMI Research Labs

The mission of VMIRL is to facilitate the pursuit of research by faculty members at VMI through the administration of grants and contracts and sponsorship of research activities.

The VMIRL Board of Directors oversees the activities of the labs and meets on an annual basis to review the yearly activities. Day-to-day administration of VMIRL is conducted by the Officers of the Corporation.

Since its inception, VMIRL has administered more than 260 grants and contracts totaling nearly $10,000,000. Faculty researchers at VMI have obtained financial support for their projects from federal sources such as NSF, NIH, NEH, Agricultural Research Service of the USDA, DoD, and the Army Research Institute, as well as from state resources, e.g., VDOT, Va. Department of Environmental Quality, Center for Innovative Technology, Va. Department of Health, Va. Department of Information Technology, and Va. Department of Technology Planning, and from private corporations such as Babcock and Wilcox, Jeffress Memorial Trust, Emhart Glass, Research Corp. of America, Ford Motor Corporation, and the Harrington Corporation.

Additionally, conferences such as Environment Virginia, COVITS, Virginia Transportation Conference, and Energy Virginia have been made possible in part through VMIRL sponsorship.

Faculty wishing to submit a grant should first review VMIRL's Policies and Procedures Manual and VMI's Sponsored Programs Policy.

Board of Directors

  • Robert W. Benninger, P.E., '74
  • Dr. James C. Burns, '68
  • William B. Dyer III, '84
  • Charles E. Edgar IV, '87
  • Dr. John Gupton, '67
  • Grey Hatchett, '91
  • Dr. Bland Massie, '77
  • Harry M. Moore, P.E., '81
  • G. David Smith, '80
  • J. Wade Stinnette, Jr., '80
  • Dr. David S. Wilkinson, '67, Chair
  • Ltc. Bob Yearout, '62

Officers of the Corporation

  • Director of Research: Colonel Wade E. Bell, Biology Department
  • Secretary and Deputy Directory of Research: Lieutenant Colonel Anne B. Alerding, Biology Department
  • Treasurer and Contractual Officer: Matthew Padfield, Comptroller's Office